Journalism Scholarship

See 2017 winners!

Deadline: March 25, 2018

All scholarship applications are submitted online.

Applications accepted from February 1 to March 25, 2018.
Instructions and tips for making online submissions (PDF)

The Bess Whitehead Scott Journalism Scholarship was established in 1991 to honor Bess W. Scott, a pioneering Texas journalist and writer who died in 1997 at age 107. She had a long career as a newspaper reporter and editor, publicist, teacher, ad agency manager and magazine writer. The $2,000 award (as of 2018) is granted annually to a junior or senior university student pursuing a degree in journalism or a related field.

Eligibility Requirements

  1. Must be currently enrolled at one of the following universities:
    • Baylor University
    • Sam Houston State University
    • Texas A & M University
    • Texas State University
    • University of Mary Hardin-Baylor
    • University of North Texas
  2. Must be a junior or senior in the fall semester of the same calendar year as the application deadline.
  3. Must be pursuing study toward a degree in journalism or a related field
  4. Must demonstrate financial need

Fields of Study

  • Journalism
  • Mass Communication
  • Radio-Television-Film, or
  • similar designation

Use of Scholarship

Money will be paid directly to the university for credit to the student account of the winner.